That Bookish Life

Big Little Lies on HBO and What to Read Next

If you know me, you probably also know about my obsession with Liane Moriarty. When I talk to my husband about books and start a sentence with something like, “I just started a new book by this author I love…” he will interject with, “Liane Moriarty?” In a period of my life when I was reading primarily mysteries in which the plot is paramount, Moriarty introduced me to her genre-blend of mystery/women’s fiction where the inner lives of characters are just as, if not more important than the twists and turns of their outward experiences. Since discovering her, I have written one manuscript within that genre blend and am currently working on a second. And what greater compliment could a one writer give another?

Considering this, you can imagine my excitement when I heard my favorite Moriarty novel, Big Little Lies, was being adapted into an HBO series. Like any good Moriarty fan, I’ve been following the show avidly and the more I watch, the more entrenched I get. It’s beautiful, dark, and moody. The acting is fantastic and the soundtrack is my new favorite follow on Spotify. While the show is an entirely different beast than the book, I think it honors the author well, so if you haven’t watched it and you enjoyed the book, check it out.

But now the show has wrapped – the series finale aired Sunday, April 2nd – and you might be thinking, What next? If you are looking to fill that aching void with something similar to Big Little Lies, I’ve found an article to help! From Bustle.com, writer Kristian Wilson recommends nineteen books to keep the dark intrigue of the Big Little Lies adaptation alive. For my own part, I’ve scrounged through the A Book to Love archives and rustled up some of my favorite reads that scratch a similar itch. Here they are:

If it’s the writing you loved about Big Little Lies, try Moriarty’s backlist. The Husband’s Secret, Three Wishes, What Alice Forgot, and The Last Anniversary are my favorites.

If it’s the humor and family saga you were into, try The Nest by Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney or…

The Nest by Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney, Book Recommendations, Best Books to Read, Good Books, Book Blog, A Book to Love

Where’d You Go, Bernadette by Maria Semple.

Where'd You Go, Bernadette by Maria Semple, Book Recommendations, Best Books to Read, Good Books

If you’re looking for something similarly light with a likable female protagonist, try A Window Opens by Elisabeth Egan.

A Window Opens by Elisabeth Egan, Book Recommendations, Best Books to Read, Good Books

And if it’s the intrigue you enjoyed most, try The Silent Sister by Diane Chamberlain.

The Silent Sister by Diane Chamberlain, Book Recommendations, Best Books to Read, Good Books

Happy exploring and as always, happy reading!

 

No Comments

Leave a Reply